#BookReview: Something in the Water by @CatSteadman @randomhouse @audible_com

36388243This one starts with a bang!

The opening chapter was one of the most intriguing I’ve read in a very long time. I was instantly curious and wanted to know what happened ( an event in the end of the story is revealed in the beginning chapter).  Let’s just say I was hooked!

I listened to this one on Audible and the narrator (who happens to be the author Catherine Steadman ) was perfection.  The timeline shifts back to tell the story of Erin and Mark, who are newlyweds, passionately in love and planning a trip in the sun to Bora, Bora.  Sunbathing, scuba diving, champagne drinking. What could possibly go wrong? Well, turns out plenty.

I loved the unreliable characters, the twisty edge of your seat plot, and rather frantic pace.

Thank you for recommending this one Berit!

Book Description…

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut–for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? 

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

Purchase Link

Advertisements

27 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s