The Not So Perfect Mother by @KerryFSwayne @bookouture #blogblitz

~ Welcome to my stop on the blog blitz for The Not So Perfect Mother by Kerry Fisher~
39307352

~ My Review~

A modern rags to riches story that will have you rooting for this momma!

Maia is a mom, a wife and a housekeeper for the rich.  She loves her two children, Harley and Bronte and works hard to provide for their family.  The problem is her husband Colin. He is quite lazy and unmotivated.  He sure made my blood boil and was the perfect unlikeable character.  The author did an amazing job with characterization and this book had an array of characters to love or hate.

Maia jumps at the chance to send her kids to private school when she gets a surprise inheritance from a wealthy client. This opens them up for some “keeping up with the Jones” type scenarios and Maia finds herself and her kids scrambling for balance.  I really appreciated how she always put her kids first and worked hard to be a role model for them.

The tides do turn in Maia’s favor and I was cheering her on! Lots of memorable lines, some characters you’ll want to scream at, and some heart warming moments to smile about.  Fans of contemporary fiction should find this quite entertaining and such a feel good ending!

 

~Book Description~

 

Buy Link: myBook.to/TNSPMSocial
From Amazon chart bestseller Kerry Fisher comes a hilarious and straight-talking read for anyone who has ever despaired at the politics of the school playground…
Maia is a cleaner for ladies who lunch. With mops and buckets in tow, she spends her days dashing from house to house clearing up after them, as they rush from one exhausting pilates class to the next.
But an unusual inheritance changes the lives of Maia and her children, as they join the highly exclusive world of Stirling Hall School – a place where no child can survive without organic apricots and no woman goes a week without a manicure.

As Maia and her children try to settle into their new life, Maia is gradually drawn to the one man who can help her family fit in: Mr. Peters, a teacher at Stirling Hall School. But is his interest in her p

Kerry Fisher Author imageAbout the author

Born in Peterborough, UK, Kerry Fisher studied French and Italian at Bath University, followed by several years working as an English teacher in Corsica and Spain before topping the dizzying heights of holiday rep and grape picker in Tuscany. She eventually succumbed to ‘getting a proper job’ and returned to England to study Periodical Journalism at City University. After two years working at Essentials magazine in London, love carried her off to the wilds of the West Pennine moors near Bolton. She now lives in Surrey with her husband (of whisking off to Bolton fame) and two teenagers. She has a very naughty lab/schnauzer called Poppy, which leads to many mortifying moments of whistling and waving pieces of chicken while the dog practises her ‘talk to the tail’.

Kerry spent half her life talking about writing a novel, then several years at Candis magazine reviewing other people’s but it wasn’t until she took some online courses with the UCLA that the dream started to morph into reality when her debut, The School Gate Survival Guide, was picked up by HarperCollins.

urely professional? And will it win her any favors at the school gate?

The Not So Perfect Mother is a laugh-out-loud-funny and romantic Cinderella story with a twist. Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin, Jennifer Weiner and Sophie Kinsella.
Advertisements

10 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s